History and Tradition
The original Haberdashers' Aske's school was for boys, founded in 1690 by Robert Aske in Hoxton. Two centuries later, the almshouses and school buildings were demolished, and the forward-looking Aske's Foundation set up new brother and sister schools. Haberdashers' Aske's Hoxton Girls' School was opened in June 1875.
As times changed, a new site was sought in more spacious new buildings, and on 1 November 1898, the Girls' School opened in Acton. Forty-seven children from the Hoxton school were joined by twelve new girls. The School continued to grow and develop. Under the 1944 Education Act it became Direct Grant, and in 1976, together with the Boys' School, it became independent.
After many years at Acton, the Haberdashers' Company felt it desirable to move the School out of London so that pupil numbers and facilities could be further expanded. It was eventually decided to move to Elstree, next to the Boys' School, on the former Aldenham Estate. Here, since 1974, the School has grown again in size, both in terms of pupils and of physical resources, with a substantial building programme over the past decade.
Haberdashers' Aske's School for Girls is one of the eleven schools of the Worshipful Company of Haberdashers. The Company provides funding, guidance and the in-depth experience of governors, who sit on the boards of its schools and colleges around the country, participate in social and official events and take a great interest in the well-being of all the pupils in their care.