Close Menu

Sixth Form Curriculum

A Level reform is being phased in over a period of 3 years in all schools. This constitutes a significant change in both the format and the content of A Level courses.

The reformed A Levels will be fully linear, with the grade being awarded on the basis of exams taken at the end of two years of study. These final exams will contain a wider variety of questions, including more extended essay questions. In future, the AS qualification will be decoupled from the A Level – marks gained for any AS exams that are taken will not accrue towards the final A Level grade.

The following A Level subjects were reformed for first teaching in September 2015:

  • Art 
  • Biology 
  • Chemistry 
  • Economics 
  • English Literature
  • History: 16th & 17th century (British & European)
  • History: 19th & 20th century (British & International) 
  • Physics 

The following subjects are to be reformed for first teaching in September 2016:

  • Classical Greek
  • Drama & Theatre Studies
  • French
  • German
  • Geography
  • Latin
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Religious Studies
  • Spanish

The remainder will be reformed for first teaching in September 2017:

  • Classical Civilisation
  • Design & Technology
  • Further Mathematics
  • Government & Politics
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy


Latest HABS news
Latest HABS news
Back to top